Natasha Harding of The Sun tweets that The Mother is her “Book of the year so far”. Yvvette Edwardsnovel is “a powerful book that will cut you to the… quick” she says in her review today.

The Press Association have also published a fabulous review of the novel:

“a wonderfully vivid and arresting portrait of a mother facing up to the ultimate horror and doing so with bravery and dignity” Yorkshire Post

The Mother was published by Macmillan, Mantle imprint, yesterday.

Buy the novel here


  • Categories

  • Archives

  • News  ·  Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity

    Andy Stanton Announces

    WELL, DIP ME IN HISTORY AND CALL ME A TIME LORD! It’s the brand new book from the author of the award-winning and bestselling Mr Gum series!  

    NATBOFF! is a hysterical collection of stories, all set in Mr Gum’s hometown of Lamonic Bibber. Strap on your laughter goggles as you embark on a time-travelling journey through the funniest and maddest moments in history. From the Stone Age to Medieval times, from the Great Fire to the First World War, to one million years in the future, it’s all here – and it’s all completely crazy.

    Meet the town’s most famous residents, including: Natboff the caveman! Princess Snowflake! A malcontent squirrel! Strange Mildred the witch! A talking grape called Plover! Cribbins, the mysterious Victorian inventor, who invented mysterious Victorian things! And plenty more besides!

    Packed full of stories, poems, an extremely odd history of the British monarchy, and even a ‘Shakespearian’ play (penned by William’s less-famous brother, Terry) – and with plenty of Easter eggs for Mr Gum fans to spot along the way – this book is perfect for fans of Horrible Histories, Roald Dahl and David Williams. Plus it’s the only one that’s got the word ‘kingandqueeniest’ in it, most likely.

    With hilarious illustrations by David Tazzyman.

  • Categories

  • Archives