Invisible Girl

Publishers

UK (C'wealth) HarperCollins
Vietnam Tre Publishing

Rights

World Rights With UK Publisher
Film Rights Eve White

Classification

Age Range 9+
Category Fiction
ISBN-10: 0007466900
ISBN-13: 978-0007466900

GABRIELLA MIDWINTER USED TO HAVE A HOME. SHE WASN’T INVISIBLE BACK THEN…

For fans of Cathy Cassidy and Jacqueline Wilson, a stunning new novel from the author of SHINE, GLITTER, SEA OF STARS and A MILLION ANGELS.

“What’s strange is that the day it actually happened, everything seemed so normal.”

Caught between arguing parents and moving house, twelve-year-old Gabriella somehow slips through the cracks. Now she’s more alone than ever before. The city streets are no place for young girls but they’re all she’s got.

Unless she can find her brother Beckett. Unless she can find her home.

Click here to view the Youtube clip of a flash mob at Kings Cross Station, organised by Kate and the Big Issue Foundation to raise our awareness of youth homelessness. The flash mob took place at 8.00am on Thursday 30th May, 2013.

Find Invisible Girl at Amazon.

My legs are cold. I open the backpack but it makes my tummy churn so I tug at the nylon straps and click the black buckles shut. If I don’t read the letter and I don’t look in the bag maybe it will all go away. Maybe it’s really a dream and in a minute I’ll go back home and Dad will be sighing on the sofa and Amy will be trying on her new stuff and everything’ll be like normal. My mum keeps prowling around my brain, lurking like a sharp-toothed shark. And what’s weird is I can see everything from years ago as if it were yesterday, as if I had a TV on replay in my mind. There’s Mum pulling on one arm, screeching, and Dad pulling on the other arm, sobbing, and I’m in the middle and only five. I’m just standing there with a blank face feeling invisible. No one even notices that they’re tearing me in half like paper. And Beckett’s just standing there trembling with his arms hanging long at his sides and his face turned whiter than the moon. I wanted to go with Beckett so badly. But I couldn’t leave Dad alone, could I? He looked so helpless and Mum made me feel so shaky and panicky inside. And then she spat in Dad’s face and dropped my hand. She grabbed hold of Beckett and pulled him away. I wanted to run after him. I wanted to fly to Beckett. I wanted to hold on so tight and never let him go. And I tried to move my legs, I did, but they wouldn’t move. They couldn’t leave Dad standing there alone, looking so sad.

  • Categories

  • Archives